Buckinghamshire County Council

Visit **democracy.buckscc.gov.uk** for councillor information and email alerts for local meetings

County Council 18 May 2017

| Agenda Item | | Page No |
|-------------|---|---------|
| 9 | REPORT OF THE LEADER Leader's appointments attached | 3 - 4 |
| 11 | REPORT ON COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY, SUBSTITUTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS Committee appointments attached | 5 - 8 |



The Leader's Annual Appointments

This report sets out the executive appointments made by the Leader for the municipal year 2017/18 to the following positions: Cabinet Members and Deputy Cabinet Members.

Cabinet

| Portfolio | Cabinet Member |
|---|----------------------------|
| Leader | Martin Tett |
| Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Transportation | Mark Shaw |
| Children's Services | Warren Whyte (Lead Member) |
| Education | Mike Appleyard |
| Health & Wellbeing | Lin Hazell |
| Planning & Environment | Bill Chapple OBE |
| Community Engagement | Noel Brown |
| Resources | John Chilver |

Deputies

| Portfolio | Deputy Cabinet Member |
|------------------------|-----------------------|
| Transportation | Paul Irwin |
| Children's Services | Jean Teesdale |
| Education | Arif Hussain |
| Health & Wellbeing | Wendy Mallen |
| Planning & Environment | Clive Harriss |
| Community Engagement | Anne Wight |
| Resources | Gareth Williams |

3



| Committee | Newingtions |
|--|--|
| Committee | Nominations |
| Development Control (8) | 7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group Janet Blake (C) Noel Brown (C) Charlie Clare (C) Barbara Gibbs (C) Netta Glover (C) Roger Reed (C) David Shakespeare (C) Chaudhary Ditta (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| Pension Fund (6) | 5 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group Tim Butcher (C) John Chilver (C) |
| | Clive Harriss (C) Angela Macpherson (C) David Martin (C) Steve Lambert (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| Regulatory & Audit (8) | 7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group Steve Bowles (C) Tim Butcher (C) Dev Dhillon (C) Netta Glover (C) David Martin (C) Peter Martin (C) David Watson (C) Niknam Hussain (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| Rights of Way (8) | 7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group Ralph Bagge (C) Patricia Birchley (C) Lesley Clarke OBE (C) Carl Etholen (C) Paul Irwin (C) Alan Walters MBE (C) Katrina Wood (C) Chaudhary Ditta (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| Senior Appointments and Bucks Pay Award (7) | 6 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group Steve Bowles (C) Tim Butcher (C) Roger Reed (C) Mark Shaw (C) Martin Tett (C) Warren Whyte (C) |

Appendix 2 – Appointments to Council Committees

| | Steven Lambert (LD,EWIP&IG) |
|-----------------------------|--|
| Select – Children's (11) | 9 Conservative Group; 2 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group |
| | Alex Collingwood (C) |
| | Isobel Darby (C) |
| | Dev Dhillon (C) |
| | Wendy Mallen (C) Brian Roberts (C) |
| | Luisa Sullivan (C) |
| | Julie Ward (C) |
| | Gareth Williams (C) |
| | Katrina Wood (C) |
| | Martin Farrow (LD,EWIP&IG) Niknam Hussain (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| | |
| Select – Health (11) | 9 Conservative Group*; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group |
| | Ralph Bagge (C) |
| | Bill Bendyshe-Brown (C) |
| | Carl Etholen (C) Barbara Gibbs (C) |
| | David Martin (C) |
| | Brian Roberts (C) |
| | David Shakespeare OBE (C) |
| | Anne Wight (C) Steven Lambert (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| | Julia Wassell (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| | *Majid Hussain (L) |
| | * Re-allocated from the Conservative Group |
| Select – Finance, | 7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group |
| Performance & | Bill Bendyshe-Brown (C) |
| Resources (8) | Tim Butcher (C) |
| | Charlie Clare (C) |
| | David Martin (C) |
| | Alan Walters MBE (C) Julie Ward (C) |
| | David Watson (C) |
| | Martin Farrow (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| Select – | 7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP & Independent Group |
| Transport, Environment & | Steve Bowles (C) |
| Communities | David Carroll (C) |
| (8) | Lesley Clarke OBE (C) |
| | Dev Dhillon (C) |
| | Angela Macpherson (C) |
| | Peter Martin (C) Alan Walters (C) |
| | Steven Lambert (LD,EWIP&IG) |
| | |

Buckinghamshire Fire Authority

The County Council has 11 places on the Fire Authority which, applying the rules on proportionality, results in the following distribution of seats across the groups. The nominations received from political groups in line with proportionality are as follows:

- 1. David Carroll (C)
- 2. Netta Glover (C)
- 3. Arif Hussain (C)
- 4. Paul Irwin (C)
- 5. Roger Reed (C)
- 6. Luisa Sullivan (C)
- 7. Jean Teesdale (C)
- 8. Alan Walters MBE (C)
- 9. David Watson (C)
- 10. Niknam Hussain (LD)
- 11. Steven Lambert (LD)

Thames Valley Police and Crime Panel

Bill Bendyshe-Brown (C)

Local Area Forums

| Local Area Forum | Chairman |
|----------------------------------|---------------------------|
| Amersham | Gareth Williams |
| Beaconsfield Forum | Alan Walters MBE |
| Beeches | Lin Hazell |
| Buckingham | Warren Whyte |
| Chepping Wye Valley | David Watson |
| Chesham & Chiltern Villages | Noel Brown |
| Gerrards Cross & Denham | Barbara Gibbs (designate) |
| Great Brickhill, Wing & Ivinghoe | Netta Glover |
| Greater Aylesbury | Brian Roberts |
| Haddenham & Long Crendon | Clive Harriss |
| High Wycombe | Wendy Mallen |
| Missendens | Peter Martin |
| North West Chilterns | David Carroll |
| South West Chilterns & Marlow | Jean Teasdale |
| The Chalfonts | David Martin |
| Waddesdon | Paul Irwin |
| Wendover | Steve Bowles |
| Wexham & Ivers | Luisa Sullivan |
| Winslow & District | John Chilver |